A Tertulia in Waiting

What do you mean you’re gonna write a blog? It’s been like, what, a year?
The kind words of my husband, no doubt. He’s asking me this as I’m sitting here in support of his never-ending project called a “69 Charger.”
It has been sooo long since my last post (September 19, to be exact), in which I promised a review on a Cabernet Sauvignon. It’s 91* today in Spokane. It’s Rosé or nothing at all. And the latter is sure not going to happen.
However, my husband’s quip did have merit. And since my last post, I have enjoyed many a wine. Disliked just as many. Yet, it’s been so long since I’ve truly evaluated one. How is the color? What aromas waft from the glass? What is it that excites (or disgruntles) the palette? And for the few times I jotted down notes, the idea of sitting down and staring at my computer for one more moment made me cringe.
in case you’re not familiar with the blog, I’m a graduate student entering the third year of my program. I’m also a wife and have two young children now in school themselves. Blog, meet back burner. Or perhaps, more accurately, let’s just set you on the trivet for the time being.. It’s a pity, really, as I do greatly enjoy this hobby.
Blah, blah, blah! Wine!
It’s summer time, and I love rosé! And I love the fact that this beautiful, light, summer refresher is “cool” again. Though myself and numerous other wine enthusiasts have made attempts to reaffirm this wine as a “legit” choice, I know sadly, Brad Pitt’s front cover appearance on Wine Spectator with rosé in hand likely did more for this wine than anything else. I wrote on several last summer: Jones of Washington, Locati Cellars, Patit Creek, to name a few. I find I have a personal bias toward the dry French style in a rosé. If dry is not your personal style, take that into account for any rosé review I submit.

Tertulia Cellars is a small winery located in Washington State’s own wine country: Walla Walla. Their site discusses the meaning behind the name (Tertulia meaning “a social gathering of friends”). I was drawn to this particular wine because of the beauty in its label. A sense of friendship, a connection among the peoples of the world. Love wine? Let’s be friends! If only…

This particular Rosé is a blend of 49% Mourvèdre, 26% Grenache, and 25% Syrah. The color is that of an almost-ripe strawberry, or of a fresh salmon pink. The first whiff of this rosé is ripe and bright. Aromas of anise and tart strawberries awaken the nose. First sips are tart and bright. The acidity, though noticeable, is not overwhelming, and it flows into a tinge of buttery, but definite rhubarb flavors. A cleanfing, refreshing finish with tart citrus brings you full circle with this wine. While at times I found the acidity to be a bit high, overall, I believe this to be a nice Rosé. I found it locally at a large retailer for $11. It appears Tertulia Cellars is preparing to release the 2013 vintage for $16 (www.tertuliacellars.com). Once again, slightly behind the curve :)

Tertulia Cellars 2012 Rosé: 3.5/5 stars (good wine)

How did I enjoy this Rosé? In my backyard on a 91* day with snacks such as watermelon, chips and homemade guacamole.

Leave a Reply

