Gallery

Special Request: Montepulciano for the Merry Month of March!

Welcome, Merry Month of March! Never quite as warm as I build this time of year up in my head, but the name of the month itself is enough to bring joy to anyone after a long, cold winter.  Spring is around the corner, and perhaps even, already upon us here in Spokane.  Few things in life make me as giddy as this time of year does. As of late, however, perhaps the greatest thing I now look forward to is the end of the college quarter!  I have slaved away this weekend wrapping up the last bit of loose ends and can just about close the book on this quarter and relax for the next two weeks.  I can now begin to look ahead, and play catch up on my blog :)

Last month I brought you my first “Special Request” review, the Toscana Belcaro red wine from Italy.  Tonight I bring you the March edition of Italian wine: a 2008 Vino Nobile Di Montepulciano by Vecchia Cantina.  Located in the southern region of Tuscany in  the town of Montepulciano, this particular red blend is primarily from the Sangiovese grape; other varietals are unknown, but most likely small amounts from other grapes true to the same region as the primary Sangiovese.  Montepulciano is my favorite red Italian wine thus far, and I have been looking forward to this review for some time now.

Vecchia Cantina Montepulciano

Vecchia Cantina Montepulciano

Upon first opening the bottle, a bouquet of roses comes rushing to your nose; almost dusty, I at first was concerned.  I poured the wine into my decanter and continued with dinner, a delicious baked ziti.  I do recommend letting this wine breathe for a while as mine took some time to really open up.  Pouring my first glass, I was greeted with the same dusty rose petals,  but this time tobacco and berries followed.  The tannins are firm in this supple red wine.  Black cherry, plum, and earth are rounded out with mineral found throughout the body, cassis lingers in the finish.  I found this wine to be quite enjoyable now, and would do well in a few years time as well.

Vecchia Cantina Vino Nobile Di MontepulcianoLeone D’Oro D.O.C.G. 2008 (Montepulciano red wine):  ★★★★ great wine  (and will likely improve with age!)

I found great pleasure in the richness of this wine.  I enjoyed it with my baked ziti, and a 17-page final (not enjoyable).  My husband and I corked it halfway through to save for the next night (no overindulging while working the final assignments!).  This Montepulciano held incredible for night #2 – I detected no deterioration in aromas, and the palate was just as enjoyable as it was the first night.  Wine Spectator rates this wine 92 points.

Winemaker’s Notes: This delicious red bursts with juicy black cherry, raspberry, tobacco and mineral flavors. This is harmonious and supple, despite its tannic structure. Plays for intensity rather than sheer power. Best from 2012 through 2025.  

If you are unable to find the 2008 Vecchia Cantina Vino Nobile Di Montepulciano near you, it is available online with Wine Chateau for around $16: http://www.winechateau.com/sku90281_VECCHIA-CANTINA-DI-MONTEPULCIANO-LEONE-DORO–DOCG-750ML-2008.

Stop by next week when I get back to my beloved Cabernet!  March is Washington Wine Month, so enjoy it!!! And yes…. I realize that I just wrote about an Italian wine.  It is a fine wine though :)  So until then… Happy Drinking!

Have you tried this wine before?  Please share your experience in the comments below!  Cheers!

4 responses to “Special Request: Montepulciano for the Merry Month of March!

  1. I smiled when you said “giddy” :) It sure does feel like spring is just around the corner! Nice review, makes me want to try one myself.

  2. I LOVE vino nobiles…they are among my favorite Italian reds. Good to know this one is worth buying. I only know Vecchia Cantina’s more upscale wines, and like them a lot! Thanks for sharing. Will need to find that bottle.

  3. Pingback: Special Request for April: Tor Di Vento Barolo | The Washington Vine

  4. Beautiful description! For sure, this wine offers exquisite taste, worth trying.

Leave a Reply

