Gallery

Welcome Washington’s 600th Winery: Bridge Press Cellars!

Good afternoon my fellow Wine Enthusiasts! We are enjoying a very warm 86 degree day here in Spokane, Washington. The weather is more than welcome around here, after our very rainy (and fairly cold) spring. To celebrate, I have a Pinot Gris cooling down in the “Cellar” from Horse Heaven Hills (H3… I did find it!), and plan to bring you a nice review on it later on. High standards now, let’s not be let down, eh?

Please accept my apologies for not getting this review out to you last night. My computer’s track pad was in bad need of replacement and I just got it back today. Though in all fairness, it wasn’t gone all that long, and I had a rather hectic and long day yesterday; my review may not have made it anyway. Oh! And I feel it would be beneficial if I were to add in a Star Rating of the wines at the end. Using the rating system from Craig Renaud in his book Great American Wine, it’ll be a 1 to 5 star rating:

★★★★★: Exceptional ★★★★: Great ★★★: Good ★★: Okay ★: Bad

As I said last time, Spokane will be hosting a Vintage Spokane event this weekend, in which a variety of regional wineries and restaurants will be available for the public to taste and enjoy. So, in the spirit of this, I wanted to stick to Spokane wines this week. Previously, I reported on what I feel to be one of the best Syrahs I have ever had from Lone Canary; today – a Red Blend from Bridge Press Cellars!

Established in 2005 as a small local winery, Bridge Press joined with another local winery, Grande Ronde Cellars, to bring Spokane some well-crafted red wines (bridgepresscellars.com). They just opened their wine tasting room in the downtown Spokane Public Market back in 2009, along with Emvy Cellars. I personally love the fact it is located right alongside local farmers, it’s a great little atmosphere and they do have some great wines! In honor of becoming Washington state’s 600th winery, Bridge Press Cellars put out the 600 Red Blend to commemorate this occasion. The 600 is an inviting blend of Merlot, Cabernet Sauvignon, Cabernet Franc, and Malbec. My initial reaction to sniffing the glass was a sharp sting of alcohol, and the taste left out what I like to call “flavor”. Apparently I need to pick up a new set of wine glasses, though it is just the one that seems to have absorbed dishwater into its’ glass. The point here – be careful of what you pour your wine into!

The Bridge Press 600 Blend: on the nose provides an approachable blend of plums and other stone fruits. On the palate is a beautiful mix of sweet black cherry and plum, with a hint of pepper; the finish is earthy and fairly smooth. I feel this wine is decently balanced, and the acidity I noticed at first did calm down not only after I changed my glass, but also after letting it sit for a few minutes. It wasn’t a sweet red, it wasn’t a dry red, and I think the Malbec is a great partner to what can be a dry Cabernet Sauvignon. This medium, but firm, bodied wine paired well with the snack of cheese and crackers and would probably do well with a light red meat dish.

I picked up the 600 Blend from a local wine and seafood market for $20. My end note on this wine is: good, a decent red blend. Perhaps I was expecting a bit more excitement for the money. Don’t get me wrong, $20 is not a lot to spend on wine, but again, given where I generally stay in the price range (see my About page if you are uncertain), I would like a bit more…. sweet boldness? But this is my preference, you may taste something completely different. I would order this wine if offered at the tasting room or at a restaurant; to enjoy at home, my preference still lies with Caterina’s C4 Blend and Lone Canary’s BirdWatchers Red.

Bridge Press Cellars 600 Red Blend (Merlot, Cabernet Sauvignon, Cabernet Franc, and Malbec) NV (no vintage): ★★★

Have you tried this wine before? Please share your thoughts with us in the comments section below!

2 responses to “Welcome Washington’s 600th Winery: Bridge Press Cellars!

  1. Pingback: Do you Chenin Blanc? Kyra Wines and Emvy Cellars | The Washington Vine

  2. Pingback: Bridgepress Rosé to Welcome Spring | The Washington Vine

Leave a Reply

