Gallery

Waterbrook Melange Noir- A Red Blend

Impromptu date night?? Why yes, yes we do! My dad offered to snatch the kiddos up for the night, leaving my hubby and I alone for the night. So what do we do?? Grab our PJs and I write my blog, of course ;) No, we did go out for dinner, a fun and laid back place called Tomato Street (I think it’s a chain, I’m not certain). It’s been a long, hectic day, nothing fancy needed tonight. I did grab my wine book to jot down any notes, as today is Wednesday, and I know Tomato Street serves lots of Washington wine.

First up: Kennedy Shah Merlot, year unknown. The green apples of the initial (and subsequent) swish were unexpected, but good. But what Merlot does green apples? The acidity was too much for me to take. I tried a few more sips, then asked the waiter to bring me another on their wine list: 14 Hands Cabernet Sauvignon (as I said, we like horses. If you don’t catch the reference, “Hands” are used to measure the height of a horse). 14 Hands has proven to be a nice back up. It’s been a while since I’ve had it, enjoyed it tonight, but was too tired to note anything beyond “vanilla and black cherries”, a generic description really. No, I do not recommend the Kennedy Shah Merlot.

We are exhausted, and I am home now, in my pi’s, ready to settle in for the night with some Utterly Chocolate Tillamook ice cream (soooooo delicious!) and a good movie. Waterbrook Melange is waiting patiently for me. I had best go grab a glass.

Waterbrook Melange Noir (Red Blend) 2008, from the Columbia Valley makes a proud statement on the front of the bottle that is has been aged 16 months in an oak barrel. It pays off well for this red. The varietal are many: Merlot, Cabernet Sauvignon, Malbec, Sangiovese, I’m certain a Syrah, but I did not write them all down, plus 11% of “other”. On the nose is a blend of spicy vanilla meets cedar, and an underlying note of berries; it’s sweet, perhaps strawberry? The sip is enjoyable with sweet berries mixed with earth; a leathery vanilla lends its way to a long oak finish. This is a medium bodied wine that I think would pair well with a light meal, perhaps pork, or just by itself. My only disappointment really with Melange was the lack of chocolate notes, which it does state to have, though I did not pick it up at all.

Overall, this is a great value wine. Priced for around $11-$12 at World Market, it is very hard to go wrong with the Melange Noir by Waterbrook. For a casual night with friends or a relaxing night at home, I would recommend grabbing this bottle! I hope you all had a terrific Wine Down Wednesday! Until next time… Happy Drinking!

Have you tried this bottle before? Like it? Love it? Hate it? Share your thoughts in the comments below!

2 responses to “Waterbrook Melange Noir- A Red Blend

  1. Sounds good. Will try to find it at our World Market next time I go! Thanks for sharing.

  2. Thank you, Winegetter :) I hope you will follow, as I like to post semi-frequently on Washington State wines. Have you checked out my post on the H3 Cabernet? If you like Cabernets, I think you will find it it highly worth trying (and a great price too). I hope you will continue to follow and comment with your opinions :)

Leave a Reply

