Gallery

H3 Cabernet Sauvignon: Gold Winner

Happy Sunday, my fellow wine drinkers! Yes, I realize today is not Wednesday, but felt in the right mood to send out a review on one of my personal favorites, a Cabernet Sauvignon by Columbia Crest Winery. Please note, this specific Cabernet is Horse Heaven Hills (H3) by Columbia Crest, located in the Horse Heaven Hills area of central Washington (hence the clever name). I make this point since my first blog was from Columbia Crest, and the review of their Syrah fell a bit short of marvelous. H3 is marvelous, and only tonight did I realize they hail from the same winery. Apparently us Washingtonians love horses as we have several wineries that pay tribute to them in one way or another, this will eventually become evident in my blogs; having grown up with horses, I am totally okay with this :) My original post tonight was planned to review a local winery here in Spokane: Caterina Winery (also home to Lone Canary and Mountain Dome, all owned by Mr. Don Townshend of Townshend Cellars). Somewhere in my writing, I lost all inspiration and decided to pull out my #1: H3 Cabernet Sauvignon. Not to fret! we picked up several great wines from Caterina, my reviews will come in time (oh how I love the Syrah….).

Where do I start in describing this medium-bodied wine that pleases the nose with its cherries and rose petals, silky, yet leathery, a beautiful ruggedness that could be found only in Horse Heaven Hills? Perhaps this is why I love Cabernets: sugar and spice, leather and lace; yet H3 brings together a smooth blend I have yet to find elsewhere. I’m sorry, California, I will give credit where credit is due (Artesa – Pinot Noir, Cline – Zinfandel… the best I’ve ever had!), but leave the Cabernets to us. On the palate, H3 brings you a deep black cherry that balances well with the earth, neither is terribly prominent. The tannins are soft, and on the finish… there it is, the cocoa. A beautiful balance indeed. I have no disclaimer to add, Columbia Crest has never sent me a bottle free of charge to try (but, if you’re reading… more H3 please?), so this review is purely my opinion, and I always keep a bottle around. Well, I suppose I need a new one now. I recently saw H3 also has a Merlot, I picked that up and will report on it later.

In short, Horse Heaven Hills (H3) Cabernet Sauvignon (2010) by Columbia Crest is a well-balanced, smooth red that I would recommend you to keep in your collection. I rely on it now to go with a great steak dinner, after-dinner chocolate, or sometimes (as in tonight), on its own when I just need that “pick me up” that only this wine can deliver. Most any (decent) market in the area will sell this wine, and for around $15-$18. I know Cabernet is a red that people either love or hate. This being said, some Cabernets are highly tannic, and I think you will be pleasantly surprised by the low acidity and the smoothness of this Cabernet.

Do I really need to say? Oh yes, the H3 2010 Cabernet Sauvignon: ★★★★★ Excellent!!

And in case you’re still uncertain, check out the Seattle Wine Awards at http://www.seattlewineawards.com/winners.html. H3 Cabernet Sauvignon received a Gold Medal in the Cabernet section :)

Enjoy your Memorial Day weekend, I certainly am :) Until next time… Happy Drinking!

Have you had H3 Cabernet Sauvignon before? Please let us (me and fellow readers) know in the comments below!

5 responses to “H3 Cabernet Sauvignon: Gold Winner

  1. I first tried H3 a month ago at the Wine Spectator Grand Tour in NYC.

    The wine was being poured by Juan Munoz Oca, the head winemaker.

    I agree with you, it was delicious!

  2. I haven’t tried it, but you almost have me convinced that this is a Cab I could love. :)

  3. The H3 Cab did take home a gold medal from this years Seattle Wine Awards. Not bad for an under $20 wine :)

  4. Pingback: Columbia Crest Grand Estates Amitage Red Blend | The Washington Vine

  5. Pingback: The Precept Family: Radius & Pendulum Reds | The Washington Vine

Leave a Reply

