Gallery

The Precept Family: Radius & Pendulum Reds

Good evening, all!  After several days of very hot temperatures, we have finally cooled down here in Spokane, reaching a high of *only* 85* or so ;)  After days of near or breaking 100*, this feels cool.  Cool enough, in fact, to ease up on my white collection and enjoy a red wine.  Or two.  How about two labels owned from a larger company?
Precept Wines boasts to be the largest privately owned wine company in the Northwest, with quite the portfolio of wines to prove it. I have written on their wines in the past, Wild Haven Blazing Red Blend and a Pinot Gris by WillowCrest. Today I bring you two more of their labels: Radius and Pendulum.

Instagram pic by jheinecke10

Instagram pic by jheinecke10

First up is a 2011 Cabernet Sauvignon by Radius Wines out of Walla Walla, Washington.  The last time I bought a 2011 red, it was out of California, and a favorite if mine.  Not paying attention to the vintage, it admittedly caught me by surprise as it seemed so young in the bottle.  In fact, it was only a 2011 in the December of 2012…Oye.  My husband was happy to finish off that bottle while I sadly opened another; I may revisit that wine again sometime. So I now find myself in possession of a 2011 Cabernet, my beloved red wine varietal. But I do write reviews for what is available to you, the consumer, and this Radius Cabernet Sauvignon is very much available (for those especially who are well acquainted with a Total Wine store, it is displayed everywhere).
On the nose, the Radius Cabernet Sauvignon presents with jammy, blackberry fruit aromas and notes of ripe blueberries.  It gives more of a “Merlot” feel than a Cabernet Sauvignon. Moving through the first few sips, the wine begins to open up.  The palate is full of flavors of dirt and light, juicy stone fruit. However, all is quickly overpowered by a tartness similar to that of cranberry juice. While one of my favorite types of juice, this is not something I expect in my beloved Cabernet Sauvignon varietal. The body is light, quite uncharacteristic of a Cabernet, and lacks depth. The finish is a bit astringent; a reminder this young Cabernet is only a 2011. You may attempt to give this time to age, but I don’t feel this will hold for too long.
Radius Cab. Sauv. 2011

Radius Cab. Sauv. 2011

Upon night two, while I did find this wine smoothed out, I also found it to be quite a bit sweeter. A Cabernet Sauvignon is generally known to be a big, bold red wine; I don’t see this particular one fitting that description.

Radius Cabernet Sauvignon 2011: ★1/2☆☆☆
I do feel there are many other Cabernet Sauvignons available that will provide more for your palate, as well as your dollar.  I recommend Columbia Crest’s H3 Cabernet or Thorny Rose, as both fall in the same price range.
Winemaker’s Notes:  The deep, dark nose aligns with layers of intense black currant and blueberry. Dark fruit flavors continue on the palate and married with ripe cherry and blackberry. Fine grained tannins and perfect balance followed by a long lingering finish with hints of oak.  Comprised of 75% Cabernet Sauvignon, 19% Merlot, 5% Malbec, and 1% Syrah.
Next up is a 2010 red blend from Pendulum Winery of the Walla Walla/Columbia Valley regions. My husband and I picked up this bottle from our local Costco when the label caught our eye.  This isn’t a plug for Costco; I most certainly prefer to buy from our more locally owned wine shops or from tasting rooms directly.  It is, however, the only place I’ve seen this wine.  Same for the Radius above.  But moving on….
The Pendulum red blend opens with a bouquet of sweet black pepper, cedar, and cherry. A seemingly second sweet red for tonight.  But the palate is pleasant with sweet tobacco and berry fruits up front.  This wine does become quite bold as it opens up further with spice and chocolate powder to dry out the lingering finish. A medium body, I do find this red wine to be enjoyable overall.  Enjoy this wine on a cool summer night on your back patio, or with a light red pasta dish. Or, if you’re like me, with the pasta while sitting in the backyard during a summer evening.

Pendulum Red Blend 2010

Pendulum Red Blend 2010

Pendulum Red Blend 2010: ★★★☆☆  (Good wine)
Winemaker’s Notes:  A wonderful red blend with intense flavors of berry, chocolate and spice artfully blended to achieve a complex and worldly wine.  Composed of 52% Cabernet Sauvignon, 16% Merlot, 15% Grenache, 14% Mourvedre 3% Malbec.
If you are interested in trying either wine, as I mentioned before, Radius is widely available at Total Wine for approximately $10.  I have yet to find this wine much elsewhere.  We picked up the Pendulum Red Blend from Costco for around the same $10 price point. Wine Spectator gave the Pendulum 90 points, so it is well priced at around $10.  You may otherwise contact Precept Wines by visiting their site,www.preceptwine.com, to inquire about purchasing either of these wines.
Have you tried either of these wines before? Please share your experiences in the comments below!!
Until next time, Cheers!!

Leave a Reply

