Gallery

Vin du Lac 2010 Pinot Gris

Good evening, my fellow wine enthusiasts!  I’ve been away from the blog for several weeks, and I do have to admit, it’s been somewhat intentional.  In part due to spring quarter wrapping up and all the finals and papers due; and in part to take a “technology” break.  I’m not sure how well the latter really went ;)

Now that classes are complete, I find myself rediscovering why I love my backyard so much.  The quiet serenity back here, despite living in the city…We’ve managed to create a little oasis back here; a nice quiet spot to relax, enjoy a book or friends, and a glass of wine.  Always a glass of wine.  And since it is summer weather with appropriate temps, this means white wine or rosé.  Today I chose a 2010 Pinot Gris from Vin du Lac of Chelan, the Columbia Valley AVA.

Vin du Lac 2010 Pinot Gris

Vin du Lac 2010 Pinot Gris

On the nose the Vin du Lac opens with dry notes of green pepper, melon, and citrus blossom.  A sip is cleansing to the palate.  A dry, yet refreshing minerality is brought to the wine, and met with grapefruit and melon.  A bright, crisp finish of pear rounds out this lovely summer companion.  A decent wine overall, though quite a bit dryer than I expected for a Pinot Gris.  Enjoy this wine best chilled with a light seafood dish.

Vin du Lac 2010 Pinot Gris:  ★★★☆☆  (good wine)

Winemaker’s notes are not available for this wine.  If you have a taste for the dry white wines, this is a great one to pick up!  I have seen Vin du Lac very rarely in the Spokane area; however you can still grab a bottle from their website at http://www.vindulac.com for about $20.  For all my readers who enjoy white wines: Summer is my time to catch up with the white wine reviews :)  Stay tuned as I have a Sauvignon Blanc, a Rosé (or five), and a Viognier in the line-up for these coming weeks!  Oh summertime can be a bear…. ;)  Until then, enjoy the season and enjoy some vino!

Have you tried this wine before?  Please share your thoughts in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

