Gallery

Summer of Rosé is Officially Back!!! Thanks to Locati Cellars

Happy evening, my fellow wine enthusiasts!  It has been quite some time since my last post…. three weeks or more I believe.  I’d say “darn that grad school for keeping me away!” again.. while so very true… it’s the same song and dance. And I signed up for it, knowing full well what it would entail.  While this quarter has been a brüt – and not in the sparkling way – I do have much to be thankful for.  Today is no exception with bright sunshine that I was able to partially enjoy, hot temps, and relaxing once again in the backyard with my husband, sipping on rosé, and having the chance to write this between reading journal articles.

When the temperature starts soaring above 77*-80* (for us Washingtonians just coming out of a long winter, 80* feels pretty darn warm!), beer is often my first choice.  Who doesn’t enjoy coming home after a long day, relaxing in the hot sun with a cold beer in hand?  No matter what, I’ll always be a beer girl at heart :)  But then I discovered rosé last summer.  And it turned out, you can find some excellent ones that don’t taste like “cheap five dollar wine” (words of my dearest mom).  I was eyeballing my husband’s Longboard Island Lager, such a great beer.  But then I uncorked a Rosé of Sangiovese by Locati Cellars. I think I’m good now.

Locati Cellars is a family-owned vineyard, located in the Walla Walla Valley of Washington state.  While conservative in the wine varietals offered, Locati does boast a number of awards for their wines.  I purchased their red blend, Innovation, last fall with the purpose of review, but it went too quickly, and I never jotted any notes down.  I’ll pick it up again, as should you.  But tonight I’m sitting in a freshly-mowed backyard reading articles on intelligence testing, watching my kids play some made up game with bean bags and a trampoline.  Life is certainly not all roses, but for now I can put aside my crazy to-do list.  Rosés have a way of slowing the world down; just what this not-yet-psychologist needed.

Rosé of Sangiovese 2011

Rosé of Sangiovese 2011

The color of this Rosé is a bright coral pink.  While I’m not one to often place too much into color, I do get particular with my Rosés.  Too pink or too deep of color seems to me to be too sweet, at least from my own experiences.  But I like the color of this Locati Cellar – not too light, very summery.  The nose is light and  welcomes you with creamy strawberry taffy and fresh, tart cranberry.  On the palate, the cranberry intensely follows through in from the nose.  While light on the palate, I do pick up hints of apricot with a brief hint of buttery pie crust, before coming into a bright, lingering finish and tangerine.  Take this as you will, but I compare this to a mild, less tart cranberry wine (specifically one from Pasek Cellars).  I’m not generally a fan of “other fruit” wine, but Pasek Cellars does have an amazing cranberry wine. Oh so perfect for hot summer days.  On the scale, this  Rosé, as you may expect, is dry.

Locati Cellars 2011 Estate Rosé of Sangiovese:  ★★★★☆  great wine

Admittedly, this is not the most complex or flavor-packed wine I have had.  But then, not all great wines are.  For a hot summer day, such as like we have seen in Spokane all week, this Rosé is a perfect companion.  With the strong notes of cranberry, I suspect this will be a must-have at the holiday table with turkey and cranberry sauce.  Almost has me yearning for Thanksgiving.  Almost.

Winemaker’s notes: 100% Mission Hills Vineyard – This marvelous wine is bone dry, not sweet, has whispers of strawberry taffy, cranberry, apricot and tutti frutti. A linger-longer kind of wine – your mouth will be happy; its approach is easy to get into with tastes of more strawberry, apricot and tangerine. It’s capped with a big rush of pie cherry acidity at the end.  

If you live in the Spokane area, I grabbed this little gem from a local market: William’s Seafood and Wine Market; I have not seen Locati anywhere else in Spokane.  However, if you contact the winery, I’m sure they could help you out. Otherwise, for $16 (comparable to what I grabbed it for – yes, I did buy this one), you can order this wine from Locati Cellars at http://www.locaticellars.com.  While you do that, I think I will locate a bottle of cranberry wine.  That may be one to review….

Have you tried this wine before? Please share your thoughts in the comment below!

5 responses to “Summer of Rosé is Officially Back!!! Thanks to Locati Cellars

  1. Thank you for the lovely review! I quite enjoy our rosé myself.
    Just wanted to share where you can find our wines in Spokane (since we aren’t in big super markets – Albertsons, Walmart, Safeway….):
    Rocket Market, Bottles (Argonne), Vino! A Wine Shop, Huckleberries (S. Monroe), Spice Traders (Valley), Mezzo Pazzo (S.Hill), Yokes (Mead) and a few restaurants downtown & S.Hill area.

    Cheers to a Summer full of Rosè

    -Trista Flores
    Sales & Marketing
    Locati Cellars

  2. I’ve read several just right stuff here. Certainly worth bookmarking for revisiting. I surprise how so much attempt you put to make such a great informative web site.

  3. I’m humbled by your words and hope future reviews live up to expectations :) I greatly enjoy writing and love to hear others appreciate my thoughts. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

