Gallery

St. Patty’s Day Cabernet – Hudson Shah CAB

Drink Wine!

Drink Wine!

Happy St. Patrick’s Day everyone!  I’ll be hosting a fun party this evening for the cohort (our small group who were fortunate enough – most days – to make it into the School Psych program).  So as I anxiously await the first arrival, I figured I would take a moment to write up my review of a Cabernet.  It has been quite some time since my last review of this varietal, I did intentionally take a break from it to expand my horizons, and hopefully yours as well :)

I talk to so many who don’t like Cabernet Sauvignon.  It’s too dry.  Too bold.  Too much in some way or another.  And I as I reflect on the many who have given me all the reasons why they don’t like Cabernet, I now have to chuckle.  All these reasons are perhaps why I love Cabernet.  It is a lot to take in.  A complex wine that must be appreciated by someone who understands it.  It must be the holiday that has given me this insight.  Redheads are the most notoriously picked on hair color in all of human history, I’d swear to it. “Gingers” who will spread “ginger-vitus” or “consume your souls.”  I’ve heard it all.  I usually get a good laugh at them; I do find the jabs quite funny.  Especially when I can point out those who try so desperately to obtain (from a bottle) what I was granted naturally.  I love my red hair. I love my passion and deep compassion that comes with the territory.  “If you can’t handle me at my worst, you sure as hell don’t deserve me at my best.” – Marilyn Monroe  (supposedly). But the words ring strong and true.  Fiery.  Firecracker.  Too much.  Too bold.  Too complex.  I do love the Cabernets.

Hudson Shah is one label of several from the Woodhouse Wine Estates of Woodinville, Washington.  I wrote on a Syrah by their Dussek label back in January earlier this year.  And, given the story of the winemaker’s Irish roots, what better wine to write about on such a grand Irish holiday?

The wine presents the nose with deep, juicy cherry, and leather.  The palate brings the leather in with berries and what I can only describe as “chewy” tannins;    Dusty bakers chocolate lingers through the finish.  A strong medium body, but the wine as a whole lacks depth – a drawback I recall from the Dussek Syrah.  I should note this is a 2010 Cabernet; it has been said by some (myself included) that 2010 in some ways was a disappointment from the 2009 vintage.  At best, “Patience is key” for 2010.  This being said, I was pleasantly surprised by this 2010 out of the Columbia Valley.

Hudson Shah CAB

Hudson Shah CAB

Hudson Shah 2010 Cabernet “CAB”:   ★★★   (good wine)

Winemaker’s Notes: Fresh and fruity offering floral and berry aromas with slightly chewy tannins. Medium to full bodied with a polished and long attractive finish.  Alcohol 13.7%.  80% Cabernet Sauvignon, 12% Malbec, 8% Petit Verdot.  Columbia Valley AVA.

Hudson Shah is generally available throughout the Spokane area for around $14. This wine is also available for purchase through the Woodhouse website at: www.thewoodhousewineestates.com.

Happy St. Patrick’s Day!!!  Keep Calm & Drink On!  And please.. have a designated driver if you go out tonight!  CHEERS!

Have you tried this wine before?  Please share your thoughts in the comments below!

One response to “St. Patty’s Day Cabernet – Hudson Shah CAB

  1. I got a steal on a Murphy-Goode Pinot Noir to go with my traditional Irish Lamb Stew tonight. I can hardly wait to pull the cork!

Leave a Reply

