Gallery

Have Yourself a Merry Little Mourvedre…

Good evening, my fellow wine enthusiasts!  I hope tonight’s blog finds you well.  With only 11 days left until the arrival of Christmas, there is little that will allow one to unwind at the end of a hectic day like a nice glass of wine.  The holidays are frantic for many, and so I encourage you to treat yourself a bit away from all the hustle and bustle and grab a glass or two of your favorite vino, and R-E-L-A-X….

I myself have just wrapped up my first quarter of graduate school, and while the last thing I want to do it sit down at the computer again, it’s quite enjoyable with a glass beside me.  Researching wine is far more enjoyable anyway :)

Tonight I bring you a Mourvedre (blend) from the Wahluke Slope AVA.  Soaring Rooster wines finds shelter with Tagaris Winery of the Columbia Valley, who appear to enjoy old-world style wines alongside the more traditional Washington varietals of Cabernet, Syrah, and Merlot, according to their website.  The label is catchy, and actually I did grab it after my husband made a comment to the tune of, “well, there’s always a rooster if you’re looking for different…”  When I noticed both a Malbec and a Mourvedre were available, and at the right price, I did not hesitate.  My husband on the other hand, certainly was not looking convinced.  How do you say no to a title like “Soaring Rooster”, with a picture of said bird in a bomber jacket?  And I was certainly more than happy to indulge my adventurous side!  On the nose, this Mourvedre blend presents with vanilla and deep black cherry. Hints of spice and tobacco poke through as the wine begins to open up.  On the palate, vanilla and black cherry follow in from the nose, and are met with flavors leather and tobacco.  A smooth finish lingers with black pepper and  mediums tannins.  The wine is medium in body, and as I sit here sipping it slowly while typing this up, the spice on the nose is really becoming dominant.  Unlike many Washington wines I

2009 Soaring Rooster Mourvedre

2009 Soaring Rooster Mourvedre

have enjoyed, this is not very fruit-forward; tobacco and spice really shine through for this enjoyable wine.

Soaring Rooster 2009 Mourvedre (blend):  ★★★✫☆  good/great  wine!

I picked this wine up at a local coffee shop in our downtown (Spokane) area for around $15.  You can also pick it up online from Tagaris Winery’s online store at http://www.tagariswines.com for around $17.  A fair price for this wine either way, and I would certainly buy it again!

Winemakers notes: 75% Mourvedre, 10% Counoise, 10% Grenache, 5% Tempranillo.  “Huge aromatic nose” of sweet vanilla, black cherry, and a Mediterranean Spice Blend. Palate is deep black cherry with leather, pipe tobacco and spice.  Finish with flavors of cogniac, black pepper and black tea.  13.5% Alcohol.

For every palate there is a wine….

Have you tried this wine before?  Please share your experience in the comments below!   Enjoy your holiday season!  Merry Christmas & CHEERS!

Leave a Reply

