Gallery

Red, White & Milbrandt Wine

Good evening, my fellow wine enthusiasts!  Time sure flies when you’re having fun! Or when you’re absurdly busy with graduate school and with what little life exists beyond it.  I had thought to wait to post my next blog until after I had completed finals this week, but  a need to write something more exciting than a research paper has gotten the better of me.  As well as the realization it’s been nearly a month since my last post!  In all fairness, I began writing this one almost two weeks ago.  Then the guilt kicked in that I write too much on Cabernet Sauvignon, and not nearly enough on whites.  The latter has been pointed out a few times, I do take it to heart.  I couldn’t let a perfectly good review go to waste (and Cabernet is my beloved, we all have one).  So here it sat, in “draft” status, waiting for me to find a mate to accompany the Cabernet. I like to keep themes, so Milbrandt it was!  And then the problem kicked in to find another wine.  Or perhaps more accurately, the problem of time to look kicked in, and here we are, almost a month later.

Milbrandt Cabernet Sauvignon was a gift from my dad, as well as their Traditions 2010 Syrah (quite good, but I didn’t take any notes).  I wrote on their Rosé earlier this year, but it is their Syrah Rosé that stands out most in my mind.  I hope they bring it back (hint, hint!).  On the nose, this Cabernet presents with dark chocolate and cherry.  The first sip opens up with chocolate and blackberry. As it really begins to open up, the blackberry is met with cassis  (berry, tobacco), helping to really round out this smooth wine, before leading into a  deep espresso, slightly lingering, finish.  The tannins are soft in this medium-full bodied wine.  I found this wine to be very enjoyable and will certainly buy it again.  It is widely available in stores for around the price of $15. This is not a pure Cabernet (only 77%): 11% Malbec, 7% Petit Verdot, and 5% Syrah.  Wine Spectator gave this Cabernet 90 points! Congrats, Milbrandt!

Winemakers notes: aromas of ripe plum, blackberry and subtle notes of mint. Layered dark cherry and mocha flavors, paired with gentle tannins and a full, luscious finish (pulled from http://www.milbrandtvineyards.com).

Milbrandt Traditions Cabernet Sauvignon

Milbrandt Traditions Cabernet Sauvignon

Milbrandt Traditions 2010 Cabernet Sauvignon:  ★★★★ great wine 

Milbrandt Pinot Gris 2011 is another wine I would recommend picking up.  I have felt quite hit-and-miss (or really, just “miss”) with Pinot Gris/Grigio lately and so I wasn’t sure if I was terribly hopeful for this one or not.  Actually, I haven’t touched this white varietal since earlier summer, and chose instead to explore other white wines.  Vin du Luc Pinot Gris is one I had with a friend a while back, and I really enjoyed it.  Sadly, I can’t find it anywhere!  But back to Milbrandt:  On the nose, this white welcomes you with crisp notes of honeydew and pear.  The palate brings the melon forward, along with peaches.  The body is crisp with a light minerality, semi-dry, and the finish is of green apple and grass. Being a young 2011, it has a brightness to it that I greatly enjoy in white wines.  As with many whites, it pairs well with light seafood or a nice salad (as I enjoyed it).  My husband won’t touch white wines, so day two of this wine was really not too bad.  It was a bit drier (common for whites, in my experience), but not “zap your mouth” dry, and the notes of pear in the sip were more pronounced.  Certainly still drinkable!  Also widely available, Milbrandt Pinot Gris retails for around $12-$13, and is currently sold out online.  Must be good! I will buy this again.  100% Pinot Gris, 12.5% alcohol.

Milbrandt Traditions Pinot Gris

Milbrandt Traditions Pinot Gris

Milbrandt Traditions 2011 Pinot Gris: ★★★1/2 pretty good wine

Winemakers notes: dry and refreshing style with fruit aromas of Anjou pears, white peaches and notes of honeysuckle. It’s medium-bodied and crisp on the palate with lively flavors of melon.  (pulled from http://www.milbrandtvineyards.com).

For every wine there is a palate, and for every palate there is a wine….

Have you tried this wine before? Please share your thoughts in the comments below!

One response to “Red, White & Milbrandt Wine

  1. Pingback: Patit Creek “Roux” Red Blend: Not for the Holidays | The Washington Vine

Leave a Reply

