Gallery

Back by Demand: Thorny Rose Wines Red Blend

Good afternoon, my fellow wine enthusiasts! I wrote up a review some time ago from Thorny Rose Wines, a 2009 Cabernet Sauvignon.  The post has since become my most reviewed post, and questions started coming in regarding their other wines, namely the red blend.  Thorny Rose does seem to be a lesser known label, and so I take it as my patriotic duty to help promote a local Washington winery.  So Monday night, on my way home from class, I stopped into a local grocer that I know carries Thorny Rose Red Blend and picked up a bottle.

As some are aware, I am a graduate student, studying to become a School Psychologist.  Grad school is certainly not for the faint of heart, and in my field especially, a certain amount of backbone must be had, as well as some very broad shoulders.  I’m a passionate person who tends to carry the weight of the world; easily frustrated with what I see going  on around me, though rarely discouraged. Monday proved to be a day I was really feeling the frustrations that will come with the job.  But what does this have to do with my blog?  Life is complex. Wine is complex.  The difference is I find wine a heck of a lot easier to understand.

Thorny Rose Wines of the Columbia Valley seems to be making quite the impression with their Cabernet Sauvignon, if all the feedback I’ve received is any indication to how well they are doing.  And the question I kept getting, “What about their red blend?”  It took me a while to decide that “I don’t know” was getting to be an old answer, so I figured I’d finally give it a try!

On the nose, this Red Blend presents itself with sweet black cherry, raspberry, and just the smallest hint of vanilla.  A wonderful fragrance I’d love to blanket my home in.  The first sip is pleasant, with notes of cherry and graham crackers.  I let it breathe for a few more minutes.  The cherry and graham crackers give way to raspberry and vanilla.  Dry cocoa powder comes through on the soft, lingering finish.  As I was putting these notes down, I couldn’t help but think I was describing a cherry pie with graham cracker crust.  Please don’t let my notes mistakenly lead you to believe this is a sweet red wine.  The wine is balanced nicely, not sweet, and the cocoa powder gives it a smooth, though semi-dry feel at the end.  For only about $12 retail, this is a nice wine.  I have found this wine available in most large grocery stores.  You can also order it from the Thorny Rose website at: www. thornyrosewines.com.  Varietals of this wine: 48% Cabernet Sauvignon, 48% Merlot, 2% Syrah, 2% Malbec.

Courtesy of Thorny Rose (website). My picture is stuck on the phone

Thorny Rose 2009 Red Blend:  ★★★1/2 (good/great wine!)

I do hope that you will pick up a bottle of Thorny Rose Red Blend or Cabernet (or any of the other varietals they so carefully craft), and “See where it takes you.”  And I will add, I do find the marketing of Thorny Rose wines to be quite genius!

Among the chaos of the world, there is a comfort in knowing the deliberation, the love, that goes into crafting wine.  I can understand how the complexities come together in harmony, to create something so fine.  Life?  Life is beautiful, life is tragic.  Often, there is no understanding it, no matter how hard we try.  So drink wine!

Where there is wine, there is love….

Have you tried this wine before?  Leave your thoughts in the comments below!

14 responses to “Back by Demand: Thorny Rose Wines Red Blend

  1. I just bought this wine for $8.99 at my local Oregon Safeway (no plug by any means). Like it so much to research and found this blog to be informative and on point!! Gonna go buy 6 and get an extra 10% Off. btw

  2. I have enjoyed several moderately priced red blends in the last couple of years. I put Thorny Rose at the top of the list!

  3. We love this RED. The San Antonio Livestock Exposition has a wine competition as part of the activities. The 2009 Red Blend Thorny Rose received the Reserve Champion in the red wine category. Very impressive wine. So pleased many Texans will experience this wine over the next three weeks in the Wine Garden of the Rodeo. Three cases were auctioned off for over $1,000.00 Kimberly and James Dusek

  4. OMG! Love this wine! Just discovered it while on vacation in Texas! I will definitely be purchasing it on a regular basis (just got home and googled where to buy it as soon as I walked in the door)!

  5. After tasting at my Harris Teeter I bought a bottle of the red blend. I liked it enought to by another bottle to keep and taste against other bottles from my wine store. The Thorney Rose tasted spicy and rich next to every bottle I tried. This is going to be my new house red. Very good price at $8.99

  6. Well I definitely need to give this one a second chance…I bought a bottle of the red blend the other day and it was pretty awful. Even if a wine isn’t good I’ll still drink it, but I really had to pour out the rest of my glass. I forced down another glass the night after, thinking it had to breath a little. The taste was overwhelmingly iron, like someone threw a fork into the barrel while the grapes were fermenting. Perhaps it was the bottle. I’m glad I read your and other reviews first before giving a terrible review on this one!

    • It sounds like perhaps you had a bad bottle. Thank you for sharing this, nonetheless. Please let me know what you think should you try again. It is always possible it just did not agree with your preferences. Thank you for stopping by and giving your thoughts! I hope to hear from you again soon.

  7. Pingback: You Asked For It: Thorny Rose Pinot Grigio | The Washington Vine

  8. gloria jean landis

    I am from San Diego,California and recently was given Thorny Rose wine as a gift….I loved it, but do not know where to buy a bottle here in the area…..

  9. A long time Menage a Trois girl ;-) Thorny Rose Red Blend was on sale and caught my eye. Then it captured my palate. Alas, Pennsylvania controls the sale of wine and liquor through state owned liquor stores. But I’ll be back for more before the sale ends.

  10. A friend and I had the red blend for the first time today; outstanding! We are shopping for it tomorrow. “wheckner” definitely got a bad bottle.

Leave a Reply

