Gallery

2012 Summer of Rosé: Milbrandt Traditions

I can’t recall the last time we had such a scorcher of a summer here in Spokane, Washington.  With June having been so wet and unseasonably cool, many of us wondered if summer would pass Spokane over once again.  July came in, and our fears of a pitiful summer were quickly eased.  Not quite record-breaking temps have many fleeing to the nearest pool or lake; I’m left thinking how much I do not want to uncork any of the reds sitting in the basement.  This thinking is part of the reason I’ve slacked off on my blog since August 2.  Add in  the endless house projects, work, and the flu…. I’m just glad to be feeling mostly normal and able to bring you my latest review: Milbrandt Traditions 2011 Rosé Wine :)  

The thing I love about Rosés are how consistently refreshing they are on a hot summer day.  I like Sangria, but if Champagne is added, I’m often left with a headache.  Blended margaritas are nice, but I don’t often frequent Mexican restaurants, and I certainly do not keep tequila around (One tequila, two tequila, three tequila…).

I was happy to try this wine as a few weeks ago I highly enjoyed a  Rosé of Syrah by the same Milbrandt Vineyards with a close friend.  I have since been quite unsuccessful in locating said Rosé.  When I inquired about it at a local grocery store, the man kindly pointed me to the above Traditions Rosé, as if to say,”I’m not suggesting you’re crazy, but….”.  Searching for it online yielded no results either.  Honestly, I’m not crazy.  From what I recall, the Rosé of Syrah was quite a fine wine.

Yes, I add in this picture only to prove I am not crazy.

The Milbrandt Vineyards Traditions Rosé is composed of Syrah, Viognier, and Grenache grapes.  The color is as I expect for a Rosé: blush pink, like that of a traditional white Zinfandel.  On the nose, raspberries and herbs.  The palate is pleasant:  bright fruit flavors of raspberry and strawberry give way to the Viognier grape with a dry, yet almost buttery finish.  I actually hesitate to use the word “buttery”; bite into a strawberry, focus on what the white or light pink inside tastes like, and that is how this Rosé finishes up.  Strawberries.  It is not a very dry Rosé, but it is on the drier side of the spectrum, however with little acidic bite, this wine is balanced nicely.  The grapes come from the Columbia Valley, the alcohol content is 13%.

I enjoyed this wine sitting on my back steps while eating strawberries, blueberries, and an antipasto salad.  Refreshing and bright, this wine was a good way to end a blistering hot day.

My end rating for the Milbrandt Vineyards Traditions Rosé 2011: ★★★1/2   A pretty good wine.

My big complaint with any Rosé is that as they warm up, I feel the wine becomes more dry.  I find this frustrating as a Rosé is best enjoyed chilled, though sometimes this makes it difficult to catch all of the layers the wine may have to offer.  Quite the conundrum….

I did (I do) prefer the 2010 Rosé of Syrah by Milbrandt, but this particular Rosé wine is definitely worth picking up the next time you are in (or the summer season forces upon you) the mood for a Rosé wine.  I picked it up a the store for just under $10.  You can also find this wine online at http://www.milbrandtvineyards.com for only $12.99.

Have you tried this wine? Please share your thoughts in the comments below!

3 responses to “2012 Summer of Rosé: Milbrandt Traditions

  1. I haven’t tried this Rosé , but I LOVE Rosés in general, so I will have to give this one a try.

  2. Pingback: Red, White & Milbrandt Wine | The Washington Vine

Leave a Reply

