Gallery

A Long Absence Brings You a 2009 Cabernet by 14 Hands!

Allow me to start by welcoming myself back to the blog! I apologize for my long absence; Independence Day festivities have had me plenty busy! That, and some serious home projects my husband had decided needed done yesterday. When this past Tuesday rolled around, it then occurred to me, “I haven’t done a blog for some time! I must fix this!” So I reached for a staple in my wine collection (the kind of staple, “when finances get tight”) and started on creating my favorite Red Wine Chicken dinner. So yummy! Seriously….I may have to find the recipe and add it to the end of this blog!

14 Hands Cabernet Sauvignon appealed to me some time ago because of the beautiful label: a vibrant painting of horses galloping across what I would assume to be the Horse Heaven Hills (or at least, it fits in my imagery, so I stick with it).

Artist Cynthia Sampson: http://www.zebrajazzstudio.com

I mentioned when I first began this blog that Washington state loves horses; 14 Hands Winery is no exception. If you are not a “horse person”, 14 Hands is a reference to the height of a horse, as once upon a time, horses were measured using a the width of the palm of a man’s hand. The winery is referring to specifically the Mustang, a small and feisty horse, that once roamed free in the area known today as Horse Heaven Hills.

The 2009 Cabernet Sauvignon by 14 Hands is a fairly popular wine around Washington, and thus can be found in most any grocery store (should you find you don’t live in Patterson, WA.). On the nose is black currant mixed nicely with a leathery, yet sweet cherry. Almost rough, a little dry, a nice tribute to the region. The wine opens up nicely with smooth cherry and plum on the palate; the tannins are soft, and only further soften the longer it is able to breathe. 14 Hands describe a “baking spice” flavor, I detected licorice. Whatever it was, it added a dryness to the Cabernet that I’ve become unaccustomed to, not necessarily a bad thing! A long, velvety finish rounds out this medium body Cabernet. The wine paired very well with the chicken I cooked up (the dryer texture meshed well with the sweet brown sugar in the recipe).

Overall, it is no H3, but the 14 Hands Cabernet Sauvignon is a decent value wine. Priced at approximately $12 from http://www.14hands.com, it does lack depth in the overall body of the wine, but is still worth it for a casual night (such as when I’m writing up a term paper or relaxing with my husband). I would rate this wine: ★★★ decent. Rating possibly boosted by the price, I’m not certain. Maybe I need to drink it again ;)

Need a quick, easy recipe with ingredients you are certain to have in your pantry? Red Wine Chicken (4 servings):

1 lb chicken breasts; 1 tsp olive oil; 1 tsp minced garlic; 1 tsp paprika (though I used chili powder); 1/3 cup brown sugar; 1/3 cup red wine (your choice!); salt & pepper to taste!

Directions: heat oil in skillet over medium-high heat, and cook garlic until tender. Place chicken in skillet and cook each side approx. 10 minutes or until no longer pink. Drain any remaining oil from skillet. Sprinkle chicken with paprika and brown sugar, pour red wine around chicken. Cover and simmer for 15-20 minutes. Season to taste with salt and pepper (www.allrecipes.com). Enjoy!

Now for me begins the hard part: no wine for a week! I will try and find something else to blog about however this weekend :) But when the week is over, I promise to bring you the Tempranillo from Patit Creek Cellars I have been talking about. I am certain we will not be disappointed!

So until next time…. Happy Drinking!

Have you had the 14 Hands Cabernet Sauvignon before? Please share your experience with us in the comments below!

One response to “A Long Absence Brings You a 2009 Cabernet by 14 Hands!

  1. Pingback: Hot to Trot for Red Wine and Fall! | The Washington Vine

Leave a Reply

